Create a Virtual Windows Domain with Virtual DMZ (Part 1)

As part of my Hands-Goals I’ve created the first part of my virtual Windows domain.

The domain has a Microsoft Windows 2008 R2 Server as a domain controller. The controller has the following roles added – DNS, Active Server and DHCP which is issuing IP address to any client machines on the domain.

I’ve created two virtual Windows XP machines (with Service Pack 3) and added these in to my Windows domain.

All this is created using VirtualBox. I played around with Microsoft Virtual PC 2007, but found VirtualBox to be the most straightforward of the two when it came to creating virtual machines.

I’m running a Dell PowerEdge SC440 as my host machine. The spec of this physical machine is: 2GB RAM (hoping to bump this up in the next two weeks) and a 75GB hard disk. I’ve installed Windows XP with Service Pack 3 on top as the operating system.

Here is the list and order of tasks needed to create the domain.

1. Install VirtualBox on your PC
2. Create a virtual machine in VirtualBox to host Windows 2008 R2 Server
3. Create two virtual machines in VirtualBox to host Windows XP (with Service Pack 3)
4. Install DNS on your Windows 2008 R2 Server virtual image
5. Install DHCP on your Windows 2008 R2 Server virtual image
6. Create your Windows Domain. I’ve used 10.0.0.x as my private IP range for this domain. The domain controller is 10.0.0.20 and the DHCP range is from 10.0.0.20-30.
7. I’ve used a superb tutorial on how to do this from Brian Tucker. Brian’s tutorial is aimed at Windows 2003 server. Drop me an emailBut the steps are pretty much identical for Windows 2008. The only real difference between the two is that the reverse pointer record does not have to be created manually in 2008, as the system automatically creates it.

NOTE: I’ve created all my virtual machines on VirtualBox’s ‘Internal Network’ adapter setting. This creates a sub-net on your host machine that cannot be contacted by the host or by other sub-nets without the use of some kind of routing functionality. This is by choice. The reasoning behind this will become apparent in the subsequent parts of this domain/dmz exercise.

I’ll post a diagram of this domain as it stands in the next few days. And add it to as the domain grows to include DB servers, routers etc.

Leave a Reply

